862dr: Confederate Army of the West 30 June 1862

by Brett Schulte on May 29, 2010 · 0 comments

Back to the George Nafziger American Civil War Order of Battle Collection

                  Confederate Army of the West 
                          30 June 1862

Commanding Officer: Major General J.P.McCown
1st Division: Brigadier General H. Little
     1st Brigade: Brigadier General E. Gates
          16th Arkansas Infantry Regiment
          1st Missouri Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          2nd Missouri Infantry Regiment
          3rd Missouri Infantry Regiment
          Battalion Missouri Infantry 
          Wade's Battery
     2nd Brigade: Brigadier General P.O.Hebert
          3rd Louisiana Infantry Regiment
          14th Arkansas Infantry Regiment          
          17th Arkansas Infantry Regiment          
          Whitfield's Texas Legion Cavalry (dismounted)
          Greer's Texas Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          MacDonald's Battery
     3rd Brigade: Brigadier General M.E.Green
          4th Missouri Infantry  Regiment
          Battalion Missouri Infantry  
          Battalion Missouri Cavalry (dismounted)          
          Confederate Rangers Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          King's Battery 
2nd Division: Major General J.P.McCown
     1st Brigade: Brigadier General W.L.Cabell
          McCray's Arkansas Infantry Regiment 
          14th Texas Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          10th Texas Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          11th Texas Cavalry Regiment (dismounted)
          Andrew's Texas Infantry Regiment
          Good's Battery  
     2nd Brigade: Brigadier General T.J.Churchill
          4th Arkansas Infantry Regiment 
          1st Arkansas Riflemen (dismounted)
          2nd Arkansas Riflemen (dismounted)
          4th Arkansas Infantry Battalion
          Turnbull's Arkansas Infantry Battalion
          Reves' Missouri Scouts
          Humphrey's Battery 
3rd Division: Major General D.H.Maury
     1st Brigade: Brigadier General J.L. Hogg
               (Colonel T.P.Dockerty)
          18th Arkansas Infantry Regiment
          19th Arkansas Infantry Regiment
          McCaver's Arkansas Infantry Battalion
          Jones' Arkansas Infantry Battalion
     2nd Brigade: Brigadier General J.C.Moore
          Hobbs' Arkansas Infantry Regiment 
          Adams' Arkansas Infantry Regiment 
          35th Mississippi Infantry Regiment
          2nd Texas Infantry Regiment
          Bledsoe's Battery
     3rd Brigade: Brigadier General C.W.Phifer
          3rd Arkansas Cavalry Regiment (Dismounted)
          6th Texas Cavalry Regiment (Dismounted)
          9th Texas Cavalry Regiment (Dismounted)
          Brook's Battalion
          McNally's Battery

Reserve Artillery:
          Hoxton's Battery
          Landis' Battery
          Guibor's Battery
          Brown's Battery

          Forrest's Cavalry Regiment
          Webb's Cavalry Squadron
          Savery's Cavalry Company
          McCulloch's Cavalry Regiment
          Price's Body Guard

U.S.  War Department, The War of the Succession, 
A Compilation of Official Records of the Union and 
Confederate Armies,  Government Printing Office; 
Washington D.C. 1882

Source: George Nafziger Order of Battle Collection


Check out the Siege of Petersburg Online for daily posts on battle accounts in newspaper articles, diary entries, letters and more!

What are your Top 10 Gettysburg Books? See what a panel of bloggers said recently.

Want to read some interesting Civil War content from amateurs and pros alike? Check out the Top 10 Civil War Blogs and Top 10 Civil War Blogs: 11-20.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: